The Tromp Queen COOKS!

The Tromp Queen Cooks! Family Favorites: old and new — all delicious!

Tortellini Summer Salad

Leave a comment

Tonight was one of those nights.  I looked into the refrigerator and tried to figure out what I could cook for dinner that was not too complicated, not too hot, not too much effort.

I spied a package of fresh tortellini.  I thought, “Hey, I could boil that and throw in some vegetables and some meat and cheese.  It would be a main course salad!”

tortellini

Uncooked Tortellini. Image via Flickr by Scott Feldstein CC license

I put some water on to boil.  I started to gather ingredients.

1 small white onion, diced
4 stalks of celery, diced
1 jar of marinated artichoke hearts, drained
4 carrots, grated
1 box cherry tomatoes
1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
several slices of deli ham, diced (1/4 to 1/3 of a pound)
1/2 jar Muffuletta olive salad (use a fork to dig it out of the jar)
Most of a bottle of creamy Caesar dressing (or could use vinegar and olive oil)

Boil a package of cheese tortellini according to the package directions.  Undercook just slightly.  Rinse with cold water.  While pasta cooks, combine the rest of the salad ingredients in a large bowl.  Add the pasta.  Toss and mix.

Author: quirkyjazz

I am a pianist, musician, music teacher, choir director, mother, wife, daughter, sister, cousin, sister-in-law, friend, neighbor. I enjoy music (of course!), quilting, sewing, beading, traveling, kayaking, camping, biking, hiking, gardening, knitting, scrapbooking, cooking, reading, poetry, drinking good coffee, and having fun with family and friends. NOTE -- Creative Commons License: All work of The Tromp Queen (quirkyjazz, aka Jill) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 4.0 Unported License.

Please let me know what you are thinking.