The Tromp Queen COOKS!

The Tromp Queen Cooks! Family Favorites: old and new — all delicious!

The BEST Chocolate Chip Scones

Leave a comment

Chocolate Chip Scones

Semi-sweet chocolate chips

Semi-sweet chocolate chips (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This recipe could change your life.  Seriously.

I got this wonderful recipe from my dear friend, Anne.  She gave it to me years ago.  I wrote it in my favorite recipe notebook on the very first page.  The numbers are a bit smudged, but thankfully I nearly have it memorized.

Recipes I've been saving for 15 years or more

Recipes I’ve been saving for 15 years or more. This scone recipe is on the very FIRST page of this notebook!

(This notebook was the topic of another blog post:  http://haskerj.wordpress.com/2013/06/09/what-once-was-lost-now-is-found/)

This recipe makes the lightest, richest, more delectable scones!  They are not dry or crumbly at all.  You MUST use the cream!  No substitutes.

Enjoy!  Happy baking.  Please let me know how you like them.

Three variations:  white chocolate with fresh raspberries, cinnamon chip, and toffee chocolate chip.  Photo by Anne Marie

Three variations: white chocolate with fresh raspberries, cinnamon chip, and toffee chocolate chip. Photo by Anne Marie

To make the fabulous scones you will need:

2 c. flour
1 T. baking powder
1/2 t. salt
1/4 c. sugar (plus a bit more for sprinkling on top)
1 1/4 c. heavy cream
3/4 c. choc. chips (I use semi-sweet, special dark are excellent, too — mini chips or regular — as you please)
later for brushing on before baking:  2 T. melted butter

Heat oven to 425 degrees.

You need a large mixing bowl, a fork or whisk, a spatula, a clean space to knead, and a good cookie sheet (ungreased).

Mix dry ingredients together (flour, baking powder, salt, 1/4 c. sugar).  Whisk or fluff with a fork to mix.

Add chips, then cream.  Don’t stir too much at this point, just until it all hangs together.

Empty the blob out onto a lightly floured surface and knead it about 10 times working in a bit a flour if it is too sticky.

Pat into a 9 or 10 inch circle.  Brush the top and sides w/ the melted butter (1 to 2 T.) and sprinkle w/ the extra sugar (1 to 2 T. is plenty).

Cut into 12 wedges and separate.

Place on ungreased (or spray w/ PAM) baking sheet.

Bake 14 to 15 min. until just barely beginning to get light brown.  You can bake them longer if you like them browner or crunchier on the bottom (but you would be wrong…).

These are EXCELLENT with very cold milk or very hot, freshly ground and brewed coffee.  🙂  Or both.

comments:

  • You must use heavy cream.  Anything else will not work.
  • I have skipped the kneading and dropped them onto a cookie sheet from a scooper.  Pat them down w/ fingers and sprinkle w/ sugar.  This is ok in a time crunch, but is not quite as spectacularly good.
  • It is baking powder, not baking soda.  Don’t ask me how I know this.
  • I believe the true way to bake scones, is to pat the circle onto the cookie sheet then cut and bake them that way without separating them.  I’ve never done it that way b/c I rarely follow directions unless absolutely necessary.
  • I use a serrated knife to cut the scones and a spatula to put them on the cookie sheet.
  • This recipe is from my dear friend, Anne Donovan.  🙂
  • I once tried to figure out how to count these on Weight Watchers.  I came to the conclusion that they count as a “mistake.”
  • Did I mention these are delicious?

As far as I can tell this recipe has been PINNED on Pinterest more than 50 times.  It could be a lot more than that, because my blog stats record a lot of views of this recipe on The Tromp Queen blog.  However famous these scones have become, though, I think of my dear friend, Anne, every single time I make them and wish I could be eating them with her and chatting over a nice hot cup of freshly brewed coffee.  ❤

Author: quirkyjazz

I am a pianist, musician, music teacher, choir director, mother, wife, daughter, sister, cousin, sister-in-law, friend, neighbor. I enjoy music (of course!), quilting, sewing, beading, traveling, kayaking, camping, biking, hiking, gardening, knitting, scrapbooking, cooking, reading, poetry, drinking good coffee, and having fun with family and friends. NOTE -- Creative Commons License: All work of The Tromp Queen (quirkyjazz, aka Jill) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 4.0 Unported License.

Please let me know what you are thinking.