The Tromp Queen COOKS!

The Tromp Queen Cooks! Family Favorites: old and new — all delicious!

Linguine Carbonarish

Leave a comment

Linguine Carbonarish by quirkyjazz aka The Tromp Queen

Linguine Carbonarish by quirkyjazz aka The Tromp Queen

Carbonara usually has eggs and bacon included in the ingredients.  This one doesn’t so I’m calling it “Carbonara-ish” or Carbonarish for short.

I have delicious sliced leftover in the freezer from Christmas.  I was looking for an idea to use it in a quick dinner tonight.

In one of my cookbooks I saw a recipe for “Hay and Straw.”  Number 1:  I don’t like the name.  Not very appetizing!  2nd:  It was kind of plain.  But I took the idea, tweaked it quite a bit and made this really good dinner.  I declare the recipe “share-worthy” now.

Ingredients:

1 pkg. (16 oz) linguine, cooked al dente
3 cups cooked ham, julienned (I used leftover spiral sliced ham.)
1 T. olive oil and 1 T. butter
1 pkg. cook in the bag in the microwave frozen peas
1 1/2 cups shredded good quality Parmesan cheese
1/2 c. heavy cream (could use half and half)
8 oz. white button mushrooms (sliced)
2 t. butter and 2 t. olive oil
1 t. minced garlic (from a jar is fine or use powder — probably 1/2 t.)
1 t. thyme (or to taste)
salt and pepper to taste as well as additional Parmesan for topping

1.  Put a pot of water on for the pasta.  Add salt.  Turn it up on high.  Throw the peas in the microwave, but set it to undercook them slightly.  (i.e.  4 min. instead of 5 min. — they will cook later on some more).  When the water boils, add the pasta, set the timer for al dente and turn the heat down enough so it doesn’t boil over.

2.  I cooked the mushrooms separately because we have a mushroom hater at our house (SARAH!).  But I actually think it worked really well in this case, and would probably do it again this way.  The last four ingredients are what you need here.  In a medium skillet, heat the butter and oil (you don’t have to measure it, but you don’t need a gob).  Slice the mushrooms.  I admit I rinsed mine off even though I know it isn’t good for them.  Tough.  I don’t like all that dirt looking stuff hanging on there.  Anyway, throw the mushrooms in the hot skillet.  Hat the garlic and thyme.  Stir everything around and let this cook for the rest of the time you have.  Mine got really nicely browned and were very yummy.  Be careful not to burn them, though.  Stir them every once in a while, but let them sit long enough to get a little brown.

3.  While the pasta cooks, dig the ham out of the fridge.  Hopefully you remembered to take it out of the freezer yesterday!  (YAY!  I did!)  Slice off any huge blobs of fat, stack the slices and julienne the heck out of it.  If you are a precise person you can measure 3 cups of ham slices.  If not, just cut up how much you think everyone will eat that night.  It’ll be fine!

4. The peas are probably done.  Just let them hang out in the microwave until you are ready for them.  Get the cheese and cream ready, because it comes together in a flash here at the end.

5.  Drain the pasta.  Remember to stop it at al dente if you can.  Pasta that has no texture is not great to eat.  BLAH.

6.  You can either use your pasta pan or a very large skillet.  Melt the 1 T. butter with the 1 T. olive oil.  Add the julienned ham.  Stir it around til it is hot but not so long that it gets dry and yukky.  Just heat it through.  (You can work on the ham while the pasta is cooking if all goes well, but I had a small gray cat trying to poke her head up onto the table, and I had already dropped a mushroom earlier which was still rolling around under the table, and then …. well, you get the idea).  Grab the peas and add them to the ham in the skillet.  Throw on the shredded parmesan (save some for on top or use extra).  Pour in the cream.  Stir it all together and mix it as well as you can.  I used my wonderful stainless steel pasta fork.  It will not be an easy job, but hang in there.  Everyone can stir it again when they serve themselves so don’t get obsessed.

7.  Yell, “Dinner’s ready!”

Ideas to make it healthier:  Add more kinds of veggies.  Use whole wheat pasta. Make a roux and thicken milk to use instead of the cream.  Use less cheese.

The whole thing from start to finish took less than 30 minutes.  I’m ready for my TV show!

Author: quirkyjazz

I am a pianist, musician, music teacher, choir director, mother, wife, daughter, sister, cousin, sister-in-law, friend, neighbor. I enjoy music (of course!), quilting, sewing, beading, traveling, kayaking, camping, biking, hiking, gardening, knitting, scrapbooking, cooking, reading, poetry, drinking good coffee, and having fun with family and friends. NOTE -- Creative Commons License: All work of The Tromp Queen (quirkyjazz, aka Jill) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 4.0 Unported License.

Please let me know what you are thinking.